The umpire awarded 5 runs penalty in the ICC T20 World Cup, confusing players and spectators alike. A penalty was awarded against South Africa in the match between South Africa and Zimbabwe in the Super 12 round.
Due to rain, the match was reduced to 9 overs. Zimbabwe won the toss and chose to bat first. The incident occurred during Zimbabwe’s final over of an innings that had been reduced to 9 overs due to rain.
Anrich Nortje’s third ball of the over hit the edge of Zimbabwe batsman Milton Shumba’s bat and went into the hands of the third-man fielder. Lungi Ngidi collected the ball and threw it to de Kock, the wicket-keeper. When the players and spectators who had no idea what had happened stood there thinking, everyone understood the reason in the replay.
De Kock had put his keeping gloves on the ground to run out the batsman at the non-striker’s end. Unfortunately, the ball thrown by Ngidi hit de Kock’s pad, and the ball hit gloves lying nearby. After Seeing this, the Field umpire awarded 5 runs as a penalty. According to ICC rules, if the ball hits the glove or helmet of the wicket-keeper lying on the ground, there will be a penalty of 5 runs.
Watch, South Africa penalised 5 runs during T20 World Cup clash against Zimbabwe:
— MINI BUS 2022 (@minibus2022) October 24, 2022
View this post on Instagram